Go Back   Wiki NewForum | Latest Entertainment News > Career Forum & Tips

How Do I Get into Management?

Views: 1161  
Old 08-17-2010, 09:13 AM
Award Winner

Default How Do I Get into Management?

MONSTER MEMBER MARILYN ASKS: I am a hard worker with my eye on the grand prize: A promotion into management within the next year. I graduated from college two years ago with a great GPA and two good internships under my belt, and I was hired right away into a midsize consumer products firm. When I was first hired, my new employer made lots of noise about what a high-potential employee I was, but now it seems I'm getting treated like everyone else, rotating through assignments and not getting pushed forward at all.

I have a plan and a timeline in my head, and it seems like these folks don't share it. My performance reviews have been very positive, but no one has initiated a conversation about what my own career goals are. I'm wondering if I should look somewhere else, ask the person who hired me what's going on or just sit tight and wait. I'd appreciate any advice you can give me, because I don't want to make a wrong move here. It's just that I had planned on being a star, and it doesn't seem to be turning out that way.

WHAT THE EXPERT SAYS: You're certainly correct in wanting to play this one carefully, because your potential to be a persuasive, effective manager is on the line each time you communicate "up" at work. Your situation is doubly tricky, because you're a woman in a corporate environment that still doesn't have its head on straight about ambitious females. Trying too aggressively to move ahead in this situation could well get you dismissed as hard-to-manage, while remaining too quiet will render you invisible.